May 2016

BOARD MEETING MINUTES – Monday, May 16, 2016 – 7:00 p.m. (Annual Meeting), Fuller Park

Board members present: Dan Williams, Lauren Anderson, Andrew Buss, Andrea Siegel, Karen Costello, Sandra Bartsias, Joy Gottschalk, Ryan Fisher, Dick Fiala, Eric David, Steve Bieringer, Virgil Petrie, Mary Jane Mitchell

Board members absent: Dylan Sirny, Laura Silver

Also present: Councilmember John Quincy, Tjody deVaal, Sarah Cedarblade (Fuller Park Director), George Kraynik (City of Minneapolis Water Department), Annika Bankston (City of Minneapolis Water Department), Bob Byers (Hennepin County), various neighborhood residents, Matt Perry (President of Southwest Business Association), Ray Hoover (Principal Aide to County Commissioner Marion Greene)

Called to order: 7:05pm

46th Street Improvement Plan
The City of Minneapolis and Hennepin County are planning to restripe 46th Street West this summer between Nicollet and Lyndale, and previously presented the final proposal on May 11th at MLK Park. The Kingfield Neighborhood Association endorsed the plan following that meeting. They are also asking for approval from the Tangletown Neighborhood Association. The plan includes narrowing traffic stripes and adding bike lanes, which does mean a loss of on-street parking spaces for neighborhood homes and businesses. Residents had questions about the safety of mixing bikes and cars. Matt Perry also asked that if it is found that more parking is needed, that neighborhood groups like TNA would be willing to work with businesses and city to advocate for increased parking. Ryan read a motion based off the Kingfield Neighborhood Association resolution. Lauren proposed that Tangletown adopt this resolution, Steve seconded. Voice vote, all in favor, none opposed.

Minneapolis City Water Presentation
Our main Annual Meeting presentation about Minneapolis water was given by George Kraynik and Annika Bankston from the City of Minneapolis Public Works department, and covered sources, processing, distribution, and consumers.

Officer Reports:
Secretary – A motion to approve the April 2016 minutes was made, seconded and approved.
Treasurer – The NCR has $16,098.22 and the TNA account has $8,129.43. A motion to approve the financials report was made, seconded and approved.

Year in Review
Board members gave very short overviews of the six major board priorities to the attending neighborhood residents, including Fuller Park, Board Development, Utility Box Wraps, Sustainability, Communications, and Schools Relationships.

New Board Member Elections
Our annual meeting includes elections of new board members to replace those who choose to step down. Andrea, Karen, Laura, Virgil, Steve, and Dylan will step down from the board. Sandra will remain on the board, but would like to resign from the role of treasurer.

Joy Glasser, Dick Wager, Peter DeVaal, Justin Wills, Katherine Kornblum, and Briana Daymont were nominated to fill the open board positions. There were no contested open positions. Steve moved that the nominees be elected to the board, Dan seconded. Voice vote, none opposed. Motion carried.

Partner and Other Announcements
Councilmember Quincy mentioned a ward-wide mailing in next few weeks, and reminded attendees about the City curfew for minors. He also spoke about the recently passed City Sick and Safe Time” Ordinance, Parks Board funding agreement, and street infrastructure.

Sarah Cedarblade, our new Fuller Park Director, introduced herself.

Hennepin County Update
Ray Hoover provided a county update. The Interstate 35 transit access project (centered around Lake Street) is waiting for funding from the State Legislature, the County Works department is moving forward with public art projects related to the Southwest light rail project, and an overhaul of Child Protective Services has hired 100 additional staff members, including 65 investigators.

Remembering Charlie Siftar
Sandra spoke about Charlie’s extensive involvement in the neighborhood, including helping add bike racks at 48th and Grand, the 4th of July Parade, volunteer bike tuneups, and how TNA will be honoring Charlie during the 4th of July celebration.

Photo Contest Winners
1st – Bernie Savage – $50 gift card from Ace Hardware
2nd – Peter DeVaal – (Peter declined his prize as he was just elected to the board)
3rd – Shirley O’Mara – $25 gift card from Ace Hardware

Door Prizes
Winners – Tom Piersma, Mike O’Leary, Joy Glasser, Jessica Pottebaum, Judy Wager

Adjourned: 8:56pm

Minutes submitted by Dan Williams, TNA Secretary